Frequently Asked Questions

Let us know if you have a question that isn't already aswered here.


Any file, the loss of which would cause the data owner to suffer from business loss or personal suffering, should be backed up. It is always better to be safe than sorry, so we encourage you to check the inclusion list often.

Nothing will happen in your files which exist on our server, they still sit on our server and you can restore them anytime and from anywhere you want. Most other backup providers will delete the files on the server end if it is deleted on the local machine.

Nothing will happen. You only removed them from the backup "inclusion" list. This means these files won’t be backed up in the next backup session, but will forever remain on our system.

Your data is backed up to one of our datacenters, which is then backed up entirely to a redundant site. Also, three layered of encryption known as UltraSafe protects your data. Before the data leaves the local drive, it is encrypted using 256 bit AES encryption, which is the US Dept. of Defense’s standard for encryption. It is then compressed using a proprietary compression tool, and is then sent via a 128 bit encrypted SSL link. Since the session packets are only the digital differences of the changed files from one day to another, they are unintelligible without the original file. Upon arriving at the datacenter, the packet is compared to the original file, encrypted yet again and filed away under its version number and date stamp.

You can check the status of any running backup in real-time to see which files are being sent. However, since this is designed to run in the middle of the night, a nightly report will be emailed to you so that each morning, you can see what was transmitted from the night before.

The first backup will always take the longest, but subsequent backups typically happen pretty fast. Of course, a lot depends on your internet connection and types of files, but one thing is for certain, we will never "throttle" your ability to send us data. Not sure what that means? Google it to see how some "unlimited" backup companies make it hard for you to upload data because they throttle down their connection speed.

So you have lots of data that you want to send our way...Awesome! Yes, we can ship a hard drive to you so that you can upload your data. Once you send the drive back, we'll seed it directly into our system.

Great question. We have datacenters in several locations worldwide including the USA, Australia, England and India.

We only use datacenters that are level Tier III, Tier IV and SAS 70 compliant across our entire global data grid.

Yes. Our service complies with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability ACT (HIPAA), which was enacted by the US Congress in 1996.

Yes, our system provides full backup for open files. However, there are some files that should not be backed up directly. Examples of these would be SQL, Exchange, SAGE, Intrit, QuickBooks & Quicken files. Contact us for further information and Best Practices when dealing with these file types.

Yes, these databases are backed up by making a point in time or scheduled backup file of them using the built in backup tool within SQL Server and Exchange Server. You can then include these raw backup files into an "included" folder of your default back list.

The easiest way is to restore directly from the software. However, if you know your username and password, then you can also restore from your web account.

Yes. You can install our product software on more than one computer and log in to the same account on different computers. Your data from different computers will be backed up under each computer’s machine name. You can easily restore data from one machine to another. However, your total backup size for all the different computers’ data should not exceed your subscribed storage size.

With FULL cache chosen the effects are to have the shortest session times and the largest footprint on the local drive. With NO cache chosen, the effects are to have the longest session times but the smallest possible footprint on the local drive; it basically retransfers the entire file. With intellicache selected the effect is to have a middle ground result. Only files above 500kb are cached, and the files which are less than 500 KB are re-transferred again.